SHUT DOWN

Send backpack

Packed everything? Then send the backpack to yourself or your companion and set off.

Send

My backpack

You don't have anything in your backpack at the moment.
Add destinations, sights and events by clicking this icon on individual pages:

0
View the backpack

Wild geese

Persistent flyers. Up to 180 arctic wild geese from Siberian breeding grounds overwinter on the lower one Niederrhein, the largest resting area in Western Europe. In the months they spend here, they eat up fat for the return flight. They look for food mainly on land, rarely bottoming out in the water.

They live on land and water plants, mainly from short grasses, herbs, and to a lesser extent from perennials and roots. Maize stubble fields are preferred in autumn, and fields with rapeseed and winter cereals in spring. Geese are diurnal and nocturnal. Frequent disturbance causes them to shift their foraging into the night.

Geese are migratory birds. Your typical wedge formation is constantly in motion. The position of the first goose is particularly strenuous, so the effort is evenly distributed among all birds in an ever-changing cast. They have more than a dozen different vocalizations and their repertoire: from high-pitched head voices to creaky sounds.

 

Preferred breeding sites are: Lakes with a wide belt of reeds and meadows, but also moors, wooded islands or floodplains. Depending on the location, the breeding season is from mid-March to the end of April. It is incubated in a loose colony association with a greater distance between the nests.

During the winter months, the Wesel Biological Station organizes bus excursions to the wintering areas for Arctic geese and other water birds. Experienced guides show these interesting animals and report on biology, ecology and protection of the native nature.

The excursion program is available from the Biological Station in the Wesel Nature Conservation Center.

Are you getting your dose of nature? in the inbox

With our newsletter you are always up to date and well informed about Events, news and leisure activities – by email.

Follow us on the web.

We are happy to be there for you.

Naturpark High mark
Tourist Info in Naturparka house,Tiergarten Schloss Raesfeld
zoo 1
46348 Raesfeld?
Phone: 02865 - 60910?
E-mail: np-hohemark@raesfeld.de

SCHLIESSEN

Rucksack senden

Alles gepackt? Dann senden Sie sich selbst oder Ihrer Begleitung den Rucksack zu und ziehen Sie los.

Senden

Mein Rucksack

Sie haben zur Zeit noch nichts in Ihrem Rucksack.
Fügen Sie Ziele, Sehenswürdigkeiten und Veranstaltungen hinzu, indem sie auf einzelnen Seiten auf dieses Symbol klicken:

Wildgänse

Ausdauernde Flieger. Bis zu 180 000 arktische Wildgänse aus sibirischen Brutgebieten überwintern am unteren Niederrhein, dem größten Rastgebiet Westeuropas. In den Monaten die sie hier verbringen, fressen sie sich Fett für den Rückflug an. Nahrung suchen sie hauptsächlich an Land, seltener im Wasser gründelnd.

Sie leben von Land- und Wasserpflanzen, hauptsächlich von kurzen Gräsern, Kräutern, in geringem Umfang auch von Stauden und Wurzeln. Im Herbst sind es bevorzugt Maisstoppelfelder, im Frühjahr: Felder mit Raps und Wintergetreide. Gänse sind tag- und nachtaktiv. Häufiges Stören lässt sie ihre Nahrungssuche in die Nacht verlegen.

Gänse sind Zugvögel. Ihre typische Keilformation ist ständig in Bewegung. Die Position der ersten Gans ist besonders kraftraubend, so wird in einer immer neuen Besetzung die Anstrengung auf alle Vögel gleichmäßig verteilt. Sie verfügen über mehr als ein Dutzend verschiedene Lautäußerungen, ihr Repertoire: Von hoher Kopfstimme bis zu knarrenden Lauten.

 

Bevorzugter Brutplatz sind: Seen mit breitem Riedgürtel und Wiesen, aber auch Moore, bewaldeten Inseln oder Flussauen.Brutzeit ist, je nach Standort, Mitte März bis Ende April. Gebrütet wird in einem lockeren Kolonieverband mit größerem Abstand zwischen den Nestern.

Die Biologische Station Wesel führt während des Winterhalbjahres Busexkursionen zu den Überwinterungsgebieten der arktischen Gänse und anderer Wasservögel durch. Erfahrene Führer zeigen diese interessanten Tiere und berichten über Biologie, Ökologie und Schutz der heimischen Natur.

Das Exkursionsprogramm ist bei der Biologischen Station im Naturschutzzentrum Wesel erhältlich.

Holen Sie Sich Ihre Portion Natur
in den Posteingang

Veranstaltungen, Neuigkeiten und Freizeitangebote per Mail.

Folgen Sie uns im Netz.

Wir sind gern für Sie da.

Naturpark Hohe Mark 
im Naturparkhaus, Tiergarten Schloss Raesfeld
Tiergarten 1
46348 Raesfeld
Tel.: 02865 – 60910
E-Mail: np-hohemark@raesfeld.de